Framer: What It Does, Pricing and Who Should Skip It
Framer is a visual website builder and host for marketing sites, landing pages and portfolios. Framer 3.0 (June 16, 2026) added Agents that work inside a live project: they can build pages and layouts, write copy, manage CMS content, add SEO metadata and alt text, create code components and audit for broken links, accessibility and contrast issues, and every change stays editable on the canvas. Branching lets you or an agent make changes in an isolated branch, compare them and publish only when ready. On October 22, 2026 it released the Framer MCP, so Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, Gemini CLI and similar tools can work on the canvas, manage the CMS and publish; an older local External Agents bridge remains for localization work. It also includes CMS, analytics, localization and A/B testing add-ons, and a Marketplace of templates and components. Framer AI Agents was featured on Product Hunt on October 27, 2026.
At a glance
| Fact | Framer |
|---|---|
| Category | AI coding and website builders |
| Lowest listed price | Free: $0, 500 AI credits to try, Framer subdomain, 1 GB bandwidth |
| Free tier or trial | Free plan with 500 AI credits to try Agents and a Framer subdomain; no custom domain. |
| Pricing checked | 2026-10-28 |
| Owner | Independent company, not owned by this site’s owner |
| Our relationship | Program exists; we haven’t been approved, so this is a plain link |
Who it’s for
Designers, startups and marketing teams who want polished, animated marketing sites shipped without engineers, especially people coming from Figma.
Who should skip it
Content-heavy or data-driven sites: reviewers repeatedly call the CMS limited for complex structures, and pages and CMS items are capped by plan. Also skip if you run many small sites on a budget, since pricing is per site and reviewers say it scales up quickly.
Pricing (checked 2026-10-28)
- Free: $0, 500 AI credits to try, Framer subdomain, 1 GB bandwidth
- Basic: $10/month billed yearly, 1,000 AI credits/month, custom domain, 30 pages, 2 CMS collections, 50 GB bandwidth
- Pro: $30/month billed yearly, 3,000 credits/month, 150 pages, 10 CMS collections, 100 GB bandwidth, staging and branching
- Monthly-billing prices: not stated in the page text we captured (the page defaults to yearly billing)
- Extra editors $20/month each; viewers free. Higher credit tiers and add-ons (localization, A/B testing, advanced hosting) cost more
- Enterprise: custom. Refunds only within 14 days for EU customers, per its FAQ
Free tier or trial
Free plan with 500 AI credits to try Agents and a Framer subdomain; no custom domain.
Notable complaints
- Product Hunt reviewers’ most-cited cons are a steeper-than-expected learning curve, limited CMS functionality and missing advanced features for complex projects, high pricing as projects scale, and some unresponsive support. Source
- One reviewer says the editor slows down on heavy, animation-rich pages and wants more robust real-time collaboration and version conflict handling. Source
Alternatives in Coding & builders
- 10Web: not stated: the pricing page URL we tried returned 404 on 2026-10-18; check 10web.io
- Base44: Free: $0, 25 message credits/month
- Durable: Free: $0
- Hostinger Website Builder: not stated: Hostinger’s builder pricing page returned 404 for our check on 2026-10-18; prices vary by term and promotions
Sources
- Framer official site (checked 2026-10-28)
- Framer pricing page (checked 2026-10-28)
- Introducing Framer 3.0 (Framer blog) (checked 2026-10-28)
- Framer MCP announcement (checked 2026-10-28)
- Framer reviews on Product Hunt (checked 2026-10-28)
- Framer affiliate terms (checked 2026-10-28)