Writesonic: What It Does, Pricing and Who Should Skip It
Writesonic now presents itself as an “AI search growth engine”: it tracks how often your brand appears in AI assistants such as ChatGPT and Gemini, and helps you fix gaps with AI-written content, citations and technical SEO work.
At a glance
| Fact | Writesonic |
|---|---|
| Category | AI writing tools |
| Lowest listed price | Starter: $79/month, billed annually |
| Free tier or trial | The pricing page says “Start free. No credit card needed”; free-plan limits are not stated. |
| Pricing checked | 2026-10-18 |
| Owner | Independent company, not owned by this site’s owner |
| Our relationship | Program exists; we haven’t been approved, so this is a plain link |
Who it’s for
Marketing teams and agencies that want AI-search visibility tracking and SEO content in one subscription.
Who should skip it
Anyone who just wants a cheap AI writing assistant: the lowest listed plan is $79 a month billed annually, and the product is now built around brand tracking.
Pricing (checked 2026-10-18)
- Starter: $79/month, billed annually
- Basic: $199/month, billed annually
- Growth: $399/month, billed annually
- Monthly billing costs about 20% more than annual (per the pricing page)
Free tier or trial
The pricing page says “Start free. No credit card needed”; free-plan limits are not stated.
Notable complaints
Trustpilot: 4.6/5 from 5,763 reviews (checked 2026-10-18). Ratings depend heavily on how actively a company asks for reviews, so we don’t rank by them.
- A reviewer said they bought tokens and were then asked to pay extra fees to use them. Source
- A reviewer said an emailed cancellation before the annual renewal was ignored and they were charged. Source
- A long-time user said the Chatsonic feature stopped working reliably for their use. Source
Alternatives in Writing
- Grammarly: Free: $0/month
- Koala AI: Starter: $25/month (45,000 words)
- Originality.ai: Pro: $12.95/month billed yearly ($155.40), or $14.95 month to month
- ProWritingAid: Premium: $30/month billed monthly, or $10/month billed yearly ($120)
Sources
- Writesonic official site (checked 2026-10-18)
- Writesonic pricing page (checked 2026-10-18)
- Writesonic reviews on Trustpilot (checked 2026-10-18)