Pixlr: What It Does, Pricing and Who Should Skip It
Pixlr offers browser-based photo editors (Express and Editor), AI image, video and audio generation, background removal, upscaling and a collage maker.
At a glance
| Fact | Pixlr |
|---|---|
| Category | AI image tools |
| Lowest listed price | Plus: $1.99/month billed yearly ($2.49 monthly) |
| Free tier or trial | Free use with ads and limits (the site advertises a free editor); exact limits not stated. |
| Pricing checked | 2026-10-18 |
| Owner | Independent company, not owned by this site’s owner |
| Our relationship | Program exists; we haven’t been approved, so this is a plain link |
Who it’s for
People who want a low-cost Photoshop-style editor in the browser.
Who should skip it
Anyone generating images that might trip a content filter: several reviewers say the mature-content filter flags harmless images.
Pricing (checked 2026-10-18)
- Plus: $1.99/month billed yearly ($2.49 monthly)
- Premium: $7.99/month billed yearly ($9.99 monthly)
- Ultra: from $19.99/month billed yearly ($24.99 monthly)
- Max: $39.99/month billed yearly ($49.99 monthly)
Free tier or trial
Free use with ads and limits (the site advertises a free editor); exact limits not stated.
Notable complaints
Trustpilot: 2.1/5 from 185 reviews (checked 2026-10-18). Ratings depend heavily on how actively a company asks for reviews, so we don’t rank by them.
- Several reviewers say the mature-content filter blocks harmless images and pushes upgrades. Source
- A reviewer said they were charged $78 months after trying the platform once. Source
Alternatives in Image
- Aragon: Basic: $35 (shown as reduced from $44), 40 headshots, about 45 minutes
- BetterPic: Basic: $35 (shown as reduced from $59), 20 4K headshots, 1 style, about 2 hours
- Claid.ai: Free trial (5 trial images, per the pricing page)
- Fotor: not stated: the pricing page lists Basic (free), Pro, Pro+ and Max, but prices load dynamically and weren’t shown when we checked on 2026-10-18
Sources
- Pixlr official site (checked 2026-10-18)
- Pixlr pricing page (checked 2026-10-18)
- Pixlr reviews on Trustpilot (checked 2026-10-18)